Geomagnetic Laboratory

Image of the laboratory

Opened in 1968, the Geomagnetic Laboratory of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) serves as the headquarters for the Geomagnetic Monitoring Service and the Geomagnetic Hazards Project of the Government of Canada. It also provides engineering and technical support to other NRCan Programs, including Earthquake Monitoring and the Crustal Geophysics and Marine Geophysics.

Staff at the Laboratory operate the Canadian Magnetic Observatory network, including engineering, technical support, data processing, and data dissemination. The Laboratory also constitutes the National Authority for all magnetic declination information for Canada. The Canadian Space Weather Forecast Service operates from the Laboratory, providing routine forecasts and reports of geomagnetic activity and other space weather parameters. Research is conducted, often in conjunction with industrial or academic partners, on a variety of geomagnetic and space weather hazards to technological systems. These include: modelling of geomagnetically induced currents in power systems; telluric current effects on cathodic protection of pipelines; high energy particle effects on satellites; induction in submarine phone cables; the effects of ionospheric and geomagnetic disturbances on GPS and geophysical exploration techniques.

Laboratory compound

The Geomagnetic Laboratory consists of a main laboratory building and a 30 hectare compound containing 16 small buildings of non-magnetic construction. Eleven of the buildings in the compound are for test and calibration purposes. Five buildings form the Ottawa Magnetic Observatory, where the strength and direction of the Earth's magnetic field are recorded continually. The Observatory was established here in 1968, in a protected area where the sensitive instruments are safe from the magnetic noise of the city. It is a replacement for Agincourt (Toronto) Magnetic Observatory, which was forced to close because of the encroachment of that city. The original Toronto observatory was established in 1839.

Calibration services

The Geomagnetic Laboratory has facilities for the calibration of professional and military grade magnetic compasses, and for the calibration of magnetometers for field strengths of the order of the Earth's magnetic field and smaller. The Laboratory has coil systems for field-cancellation and the application of controlled fields referenced to the US Bureau of Standards.

The Laboratory staff can also undertake specialized site-calibration surveys throughout Canada. Such surveys include: certification of aircraft compass calibration bases; selection of sites suitable for comparing secondary magnetic instruments against standards; alignment of runways; determination of magnetic field parameters at directional-drilling sites.

Laboratoire géomagnétique

Le laboratoire géomagnétique de RNCAN

Le Laboratoire géomagnétique de Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) qui a ouvert ses portes en 1968, administre le Service de surveillance géomagnétique et le project des risques géomagnétiques du Gouvernement du Canada. Il offre également un soutien d'ingénierie et un soutien technique aux programmes de RNCan, notamment les programmes Surveillance des séismes et Géophysique de la croûte et Géophysique marine.

Le personnel du laboratoire exploite le réseau des observatoires magnétiques canadiens, notamment l'ingénierie, le soutien technique, le traitement et la diffusion des données. Le laboratoire est l'autorité nationale responsable des données sur la déclinaison magnétique au Canada. Le Service canadien de météo spatiale est exploité par le laboratoire et fournit des prévisions courantes et des rapports sur l'activité géomagnétique et les autres paramètres de météo spatiale. Des recherches sont effectuées souvent en collaboration avec des partenaires de l'industrie ou des universités sur les nombreux risques que les phénomènes géomagnétiques et météo spatiale font courir aux systèmes technologiques. Ces recherches portent, entre autres, sur la modélisation de courants induits par les phénomènes géomagnétiques dans les réseaux électriques, l'incidence des courants telluriques sur la protection cathodique des pipelines, l'incidence des particules de haute énergie sur les satellites, l'induction dans les câbles sous-marins, les effets des perturbations ionosphériques et géomagnétiques sur le GPS et les techniques d'exploration géophysique.

enclos du laboratoire

Le laboratoire géomagnétique comprend un immeuble principal à laboratoires et un enclos de 30 hectares dans lequel sont répartis 16 petits bâtiments construits avec des matériaux amagnétiques. Onze bâtiments servent à faire des essais et des étalonnages. Les cinq autres bâtiments abritent l'Observatoire magnétique d'Ottawa dans lequel l'intensité et la direction du champ magnétique de la Terre sont enregistrées en continue. L'Observatoire a été fondé en 1968 dans une région protégée où les instruments sensibles échappent au bruit magnétique de la ville. Il remplace l'Observatoire magnétique d'Agincourt (Toronto), fondé en 1839, qu'il a fallu fermer en raison de l'emprise de la ville.

Services d'étalonnage

Le Laboratoire géomagnétique est équipé d'instruments servant à l'étalonnage de compas magnétiques professionnels et militaires et à l'étalonnage de magnétomètres servant à mesurer l'intensité du champ magnétique, comme le champ magnétique de la Terre et les champs magnétiques de moindre importance. Le laboratoire est doté de systèmes de bobines pour annuler le champ magnétique et pour la mise en application des champs réglables mesurés par rapport aux normes de l'US Bureau of Standards.

Le personnel du laboratoire peut également effectuer des études d'étalonnage de sites spécialisés dans tout le Canada. Ces études comprennent l'homologation des bases d'étalonnage des compas d'aéronef, la sélection de sites appropriés pour comparer les instruments magnétiques secondaires par rapport aux normes établies, l'alignement des pistes d'atterrissage et la détermination des paramètres du champ magnétique sur les sites de forage dirigé.