Magnetic field in the Arctic regions

Although almost 90% of the observed magnetic field can be approximated by a dipole, the 10% left over, called the non-dipole field cannot be ignored. In places it can be large relative to the dipole field, thus altering noticeably the shape of the observed field. This is especially true in the vicinity of the North Magnetic Pole, with important consequences. In order to appreciate how the non-dipole part of the magnetic field distorts the overall shape of the magnetic field it is important to understand what the dipole field looks like. The three diagrams illustrate the following points.

Total intensity of the Dipole Field

Total intensity of the Dipole Field

Inclination of the Dipole Field

Inclination of the Dipole Field

Magnetic Meridians for the Dipole Field

Magnetic Meridians for the Dipole Field

  • The dipole field is symmetrical around the magnetic poles.
  • Lines of inclination form circles around the magnetic poles.
  • The strength of a dipole field is maximum at the magnetic poles. The strength at the poles is twice the strength of the field at the equator.
  • Magnetic meridians converge radially on the north magnetic pole; in other words, a compass needle will point directly at the north magnetic pole.

The real magnetic field is quite different, as can be seen in the next set of three diagrams.

Total Intensity

Total Intensity

Inclination

Inclination

Magnetic Meridians

Magnetic Meridians

  • The observed magnetic field is highly asymmetrical.
  • Lines of inclination are highly elliptical, with the North Magnetic Pole situated near one end of the ellipse.
  • The strength of the magnetic field is no longer a maximum at the North Magnetic Pole. In fact, there are now two maxima, one over central Canada, the other over Siberia.
  • Magnetic meridians do not converge radially on the North Magnetic Pole.

This final point needs further explanation. Contrary to popular belief, a compass needle does not point directly at the North Magnetic Pole. However, if a traveller sets out from some location and proceeds in the direction in which his or her compass needle points, he or she will eventually reach the North Magnetic Pole, but by a route that will not be direct. The accompanying diagram shows clearly that the magnetic meridians (red) diverge considerably from the direct path to the Magnetic Pole (green). The European example is particularly striking. Although the direct path to the Magnetic Pole requires a traveller setting out from southern Europe, at the edge of the map, to head 8 degrees west of north, a compass will lead the traveller almost 3 degrees east of north. By the time the traveller reaches Scandinavia he or she is over 18 degrees off course, and at 80 N, almost 46 degrees of course. The compass will lead the traveller past the geographic pole on the wrong (i.e. Siberian) side before it makes a sharp left turn towards the North Magnetic Pole.

Magnetic meridians diverge from the direct path to the Magnetic Pole

Magnetic meridians diverge from the direct path to the Magnetic Pole

Magnetic meridians should not be confused with magnetic declination. Declination is actually the angle between the magnetic meridian and the geographic meridian (true north) at a given location. Declination can vary considerably along a magnetic meridian.

Another common misconception is that the North Magnetic Pole is an "attractive" pole; that is, it attracts a compass needle towards it. In reality, the magnetic field felt by a compass needle is essentially uniform over the length of a compass needle and as a result the net force on the needle is zero. This means that the needle is not "pulled" towards either Magnetic Pole. However, because the compass needle is a small dipole with opposite polarity at either end, the northward directed magnetic field of the earth will cause the needle to rotate until it is aligned in the local direction of the magnetic field.

Champ magnétique dans les régions arctiques

Bien que nous puissions expliquer 90% du champ magnétique observé à l'aide d'un seul dipôle, nous ne pouvons pas négliger les 10% restants : le champ non dipôle. En certains endroits, le champ non dipôle est intense relativement au champ dipôle, ce qui modifie fortement la forme du champ observé. Ceci est particulièrement vrai à proximité du pôle Nord magnétique ce qui a des conséquences importantes. Il est important de connaître la forme d'un champ dipolaire pour comprendre comment le champ non dipôle perturbe la configuration générale du champ géomagnétique. Les trois diagrammes illustrent les points suivants :

L’intensité totale du champ dipolaire

L’intensité totale du champ dipolaire

Inclinaison du champ dipolaire

Inclinaison du champ dipolaire

Méridiens magnétiques pour le champ dipolaire

Méridiens magnétiques pour le champ dipolaire

  • Autour des pôles, le champ dipolaire est symétrique.
  • Les lignes d'inclinaison forment des cercles autour des pôles magnétiques.
  • L'intensité du champ dipolaire est maximale aux pôles. Aux pôles, elle est deux fois plus élevée qu'à l'équateur.
  • Les méridiens magnétiques convergent radialement au pôle Nord magnétique. En d'autres mots, l'aiguille de la boussole pointe vers le pôle magnétique.

Le champs géomagnétique observé est très différent, tel qu'illustré par les trois diagrammes suivants:

Intensité totale

Intensité totale

Inclination

Inclination

Méridiens magnétiques

Méridiens magnétiques

  • Le champ géomagnétique observé est très asymétrique.
  • Les lignes d'inclinaison sont très elliptiques. Le pôle Nord magnétique est situé près d'un bout de l'ellipse.
  • L'intensité du champ géomagnétique n'est plus maximale au pôle Nord magnétique. On observe deux maximums, l'un au centre du Canada, l'autre en Sibérie.
  • Les méridiens magnétiques ne convergent pas radialement au pôle Nord magnétique.

Ce dernier point mérite plus d'explications. Contrairement à la croyance populaire, l'aiguille de la boussole ne pointe pas «exactement» vers le pôle Nord magnétique. Cependant, d'où qu'il parte, un voyageur qui suit fidèlement l'aiguille de sa boussole aboutira éventuellement au pôle Nord magnétique, mais sa route s'écartera de la route directe vers le pôle. Le diagramme suivant montre que les méridiens magnétiques (en rouge) divergent considérablement de la route directe vers le pôle magnétique (en vert). L'exemple d'un voyageur dont le périple débute en Europe est particulièrement frappant. Bien que pour aller directement vers pôle Nord magnétique, un voyageur parti d'Europe méridionale (au bord de la carte) doive suivre l'azimut 8° O, sa boussole lui indiquera un azimut de 3° E. Une fois en Scandinavie, notre voyageur aura dévié de sa course, de 18° et, à une latitude de 80° N, de près de 46° . Sa boussole le conduira du mauvais côté du pôle géographique (en Sibérie) avant de lui faire prendre un virage brusque à gauche vers le pôle Nord magnétique.

Méridiens magnétiques divergent considérablement de la route directe vers le pôle magnétique

Méridiens magnétiques divergent considérablement de la route directe vers le pôle magnétique

On ne devrait pas confondre les méridiens magnétiques avec la déclinaison magnétique. La déclinaison est en fait l'angle entre le méridien magnétique et le méridien géographique (le nord vrai). Le long d'un méridien magnétique, la déclinaison peut varier considérablement.

Beaucoup de gens croient que le pôle Nord magnétique est un pôle attractif, c'est-à-dire qu'il attire vers lui, l'aiguille de la boussole. En réalité, le champ de force magnétique qui s'exerce sur l'aiguille de la boussole est essentiellement uniforme sur toute sa longueur et donc la force nette est nulle. Autrement dit, l'aiguille n'est pas «tirée» vers l'un ou l'autre des pôles magnétiques. Toutefois, puisque l'aiguille de la boussole est un petit dipôle, avec un pôle nord et un pôle sud à chaque extrémité, le champ géomagnétique orienté vers le Nord induit la rotation de l'aiguille jusqu'à ce qu'elle s'aligne avec les lignes du champ magnétique local.