Using a compass

The magnetic compass has been used for navigation for hundreds of years. At one time, it was the only reliable means of direction-finding on days when the sun and stars were not visible. Nowadays, sophisticated equipment is available that enables users to determine bearings accurately and to pinpoint locations to within a few metres. However, such equipment has not made the compass obsolete. It is still a very practical tool for navigation for many small craft and for people on foot. Even airplanes and ships equipped with more sophisticated equipment often carry compasses as backups.

Compasses come in a variety of shapes and sizes depending on their intended use. The type of compass used on a ship or aircraft is a complex electronic or mechanical device capable of compensating for both the motion of the craft and its metallic structure. At the other extreme are small pocket compasses of low precision intended for casual use.

Regardless of their intended purpose or the complexity of their construction, most mechanical compasses operate on the same basic principle. A small, elongated, permanently magnetized needle is placed on a pivot so that it may rotate freely in the horizontal plane. The Earth's magnetic field exerts a force on the compass needle, causing it to rotate until it comes to rest in the same horizontal direction as the magnetic field. Over much of the Earth, this direction is roughly true north, which accounts for the compass's importance for navigation.

Standard orienteering compass

Area of compass unreliability

The horizontal force of the magnetic field, responsible for the direction in which a compass needle is oriented, decreases in strength as one approaches the North Magnetic Pole, where it is zero. Close to the pole, an area is reached where the frictional forces in the pivot are comparable to the horizontal forces of the magnetic field. The compass starts to behave erratically when the horizontal force falls below 6000 nT, and eventually, as the horizontal force decreases to less than 3000 nT, the compass becomes unusable.

These definitions are only guidelines, and experience has shown that with care, high quality mechanical compasses can be used, even in areas where the horizontal force is less than 3000 nT. Electronic compasses will operate regardless of the horizontal field strength. However, both mechanical and electronic compasses are subject to another problem within the area of compass unreliability - daily fluctuations in magnetic declination become increasingly large as one approaches the North Magnetic Pole. Where the horizontal force is less than 3000 nT, daily fluctuations in excess of 5 degrees are normal. Therefore, even if you compass is functioning correctly it may not be pointing where you think it is.

Map of Canada which shows an ellipse over the arctic archipel where compasses are erratic and a smaller ellipse centred on the north magnetic pole where compasses are unusable.

Finding your way by compass

Navigating by compass requires determining bearings with respect to true or grid north (in the following we will assume grid north) from a map sheet and converting them to magnetic bearings for use with a compass. One way of doing this is given in the following steps.

  1. Place the compass on the map with the direction-of-travel arrow pointing along the desired line of travel.
    Compass on map
  2. Rotate the compass dial so that the parallel lines within the capsule line up with the grid lines on the map. Convert the grid bearing to a magnetic bearing using the information given on the map sheet. Adjust the dial to read the value of the magnetic bearing opposite the direction of travel arrow.
    Bearing conversion diagram
  3. Now pick up and rotate the whole compass until the red end of the needle points to the north marker on the dial. The direction-of-travel arrow on the compass card will point to your destination. Choose a landmark in that direction and walk towards it.
    Compass direction of travel

Navigating by map and compass involves much more than simply converting bearings from true to magnetic. Anyone who plans to use a compass during a wilderness trip should read one of the many fine books that have been written on the subject. Some of these are listed in the references.

Utilisation d'un compas

Les navigateurs utilisent la boussole ou le compas depuis des centaines d'années. Longtemps, elle était le seul moyen de s'orienter, lorsque les nuages couvraient le soleil ou les étoiles. De nos jours, des appareils perfectionnés permettent de trouver les azimuts et de faire le point à une précision de quelques mètres. Ces appareils cependant n'ont pas rendu la boussole désuète. Ils sont toujours très pratiques pour la navigation à bord de petites embarcations et pour les marcheurs. Même les avions et les navires dotés des appareils les plus perfectionnés ont à leur bord des compas comme instruments auxiliaires.

La forme et la taille de ces instruments varient en fonction de leur utilisation prévue. Les compas, à bord des navires et des avions, sont des appareils électroniques ou mécaniques complexes capables de compenser à la fois le mouvement du véhicule et le magnétisme de leurs structures métalliques. à l'autre extrême, les petites boussoles de poche prévues pour les loisirs sont peu précises.

La plupart des boussoles mécaniques fonctionnent de la même façon, quel que soit l'usage auquel on les destine ou la complexité de leur construction. On fixe sur un pivot, de façon à ce qu'elle puisse tourner librement dans le plan horizontal, une petite aiguille dont l'aimantation est permanente. Subissant la force exercée par le champ magnétique terrestre, l'aiguille tournera jusqu'à ce qu'elle s'aligne avec la composante horizontale de ce champ. Presque partout sur la Terre, cette direction est approximativement le nord vrai, ce qui justifie l'importance de la boussole pour l'orientation.

Modèle de boussole courant

Zone d'incertitude de la boussole

La composante horizontale du champ géomagnétique, sur laquelle la boussole s'oriente, diminue en intensité à mesure que l'on s'approche du pôle nord magnétique. à ce point, sa valeur est nulle. Avant d'arriver au pôle, on franchit une frontière où la force de friction entre l'aiguille et le pivot est comparable à la force horizontale exercée par le champ magnétique. Les mouvements de l'aiguille sont erratiques lorsque la composante horizontale est inférieure à 6000 nT et, lorsque l'intensité de la composante horizontale descend sous 3000 nT, la boussole devient inutilisable.

Ces valeurs ne sont que des indications d'ordre général. En effet, il a été démontré que l'on pouvait, en faisant preuve de diligence, utiliser des boussoles mécaniques de haute qualité, même dans des régions où la force horizontale est inférieure à 3000 nT. On peut, en outre, utiliser des boussoles ou compas électroniques quelle que soit l'intensité du champ horizontal. Toutefois, dans la zone d'incertitude de la boussole, les deux types d'instruments sont sujets aux fluctuations journalières de la déclinaison magnétique. En effet, elles sont de plus en plus importantes à mesure que l'on s'approche du pôle nord magnétique. Lorsque l'intensité horizontale est inférieure à 3000 nT, il faut s'attendre à des fluctuations journalières dépassant 5E. Donc, même une boussole en bon ordre pourra pointer vers un point autre que celui qui est poursuivi.

Carte du Canada qui montre une ellipse sur l'archipel Arctique, où les boussoles sont erratiques et une petite ellipse centrée sur le pôle nord magnétique où les boussoles sont inutilisables.

Comment vous orienter à l'aide d'une boussole

Pour se diriger avec une boussole, il faut déterminer l'azimut relativement au nord vrai ou au nord du quadrillage d'une carte (dans ce qui suit, nous supposerons qu'il s'agit du nord du quadrillage) et de le convertir en un autre angle, l'azimut magnétique, que l'on peut utiliser avec la boussole. On trouve l'azimut magnétique en suivant les étapes suivantes :

  1. Placez la boussole sur la carte de façon à ce que la flèche de direction pointe vers le point désiré
    Boussole sur la carte
  2. Tournez le cadran de la boussole jusqu'à ce que les lignes parallèles dans la capsule soient alignées avec les lignes du quadrillage de la carte. Convertissez l'azimut du quadrillage en azimut magnétique, en utilisant les renseignements inscrits sur la carte. Tournez le cadran jusqu'à ce que la valeur de l'azimut magnétique soit en face de la flèche de direction
    Diagramme de conversion d'azimut
  3. Tournez ensuite toute la boussole, jusqu'à ce que l'extrémité rouge de l'aiguille pointe vers le nord sur le cadran. La flèche de direction de la boussole pointera vers votre destination. Choisissez un point de repère dans cette direction et marchez vers lui.
    Direction du déplacement sur la boussole

Se diriger à l'aide d'une boussole est beaucoup plus compliqué que de convertir simplement des azimuts vrais en azimuts magnétiques. Quiconque prévoit utiliser une boussole au cours d'une expédition en nature devrait lire l'un des bons livres écrits sur ce sujet. Certains titres sont donnés dans les références.