Magnetic reference field models

Magnetic reference field models provide an easy way to calculate magnetic declination and other components of the magnetic field. A reference field model is a mathematical algorithm whose parameters are based on an analysis of magnetic monitoring satellites either over the entire world or a part of the world. Spherical harmonic analysis is the most common method used for producing global models. The International Geomagnetic Reference Field (IGRF) and the World Magnetic Model (WMM) are the most commonly used models for navigational purposes. Models are traditionally updated every five years. The Canadian Geomagnetic Reference Field (CGRF) is a model of the magnetic field over the Canadian region for the time period 1985-2010. It was produced using denser data over Canada than were used for the IGRF, and because the analysis was carried out over a smaller region, the CGRF can reproduce smaller spatial variations in the magnetic field than can the IGRF.

Since magnetic field models such as the IGRF and CGRF are approximations to observed data, a value of declination computed using either of them is likely to differ somewhat from the "true" value at that location. It is generally agreed that the IGRF achieves an overall accuracy of better than 1° in declination; the accuracy is better than this in densely surveyed areas such as Europe and North America, and worse in oceanic areas such as the south Pacific. The accuracy of the CGRF, in southern Canada, was about 0.5°. The accuracy of all models is worse in the Arctic near the North Magnetic Pole.

Magnetic field models are used to calculate magnetic declination and other components by means of computer programs such as the magnetic declination and magnetic field calculators.

Spherical harmonics

In 1838 the German mathematician and magnetician Frederick Gauss developed a method of representing the magnetic field in terms of a converging series whose terms were functions of latitude, longitude and radial distance from the centre of the earth. In modern notation, the representation is:

V = a n = 1 N max ( a r ) n + 1 [ g n m cos ( m φ ) + h n m sin ( m φ ) ] P n m ( θ )
  • φ refers to longitude
  • θ refers to latitude
  • r is the radial distance
  • n is the degree of the term
  • m is the order of the term
  • V is called the scalar potential

The P n m are called associated Legendre polynomials which look very much like distorted sine waves. The g n m and h n m are called Gauss coefficients which are determined through a least-squares analysis of a world-wide distribution of magnetic observations.

In theory the series goes to infinity; in practice some maximum degree, Nmax is chosen so that the series is able to reproduce the observed field to the desired resolution and accuracy. For example, for the IGRF, Nmax = 13. To reproduce the field originating within the core of the Earth requires Nmax = 15. To reproduce crustal anomalies visible in magnetic data at satellite altitudes requires Nmax = 80.

The magnetic field components (X, Y and Z) can be calculated from the scalar potential through the following derivatives:

X = 1 r V θ Y = 1 r sin θ V φ Z = V r

Les modèles de référence du champ magnétique

On peut facilement calculer la déclinaison et les autres composantes du champ géomagnétique en utilisant les modèles de référence du champ magnétique. Un modèle de référence du champ est un algorithme mathématique dont les paramètres proviennent d'une analyse des satellites de surveillance magnétiques sur l'ensemble du globe ou une partie seulement. Les modèles planétaires sont souvent basés sur l'analyse par harmoniques sphériques. Le Champ géomagnétique international de référence (IGRF) et le Modèle magnétique mondial (WMM) sont les deux modèles les plus utilisés pour la navigation. Normalement, ces modèles sont révisés à tous les cinq ans. Le Champ géomagnétique de référence du Canada (CGRC) couvre le Canada pour la période 1985-2010. Il a été produit à partir de données recueillies sur une grille plus fine que celle utilisée pour le Champ géomagnétique international de référence et, parce que l'analyse a été effectuée sur une plus petite région, il peut reproduire des variations spatiales plus fines du champ magnétique.

Puisque les modèles du champ magnétique, comme l'IGRF et le CGRC sont approximés à partir de l'ensemble des données observées, on doit s'attendre à ce que la valeur de la déclinaison calculée pour un point avec l'un ou l'autre diffère légèrement de la valeur "réelle". On s'entend généralement pour dire que la précision générale de l'IGRF est meilleure que 1° pour la déclinaison, toutefois il est plus précis dans des régions densément mesurées comme l'Europe ou l'Amérique du Nord, et moins précis dans les océans, notamment le Pacifique Sud. Dans le sud du Canada, la précision du CGRC était d'environ 0,5E. La précision de tous les modèles diminue dans l'Arctique, près du pôle nord magnétique.

On utilise les modèles de champ magnétique pour calculer la déclinaison magnétique et d'autres composants, à l'aide de programmes comme le calculateur de la déclinaison magnétique et du champ magnétique.

Les harmoniques sphériques

En 1838, le mathématicien, astronome et physicien Carl Friedrich Gauss (1777-1855) a créé une méthode de représentation du champ magnétique, sous la forme d'une série convergente dont chacun des termes sont des fonctions de la latitude, la longitude et la distance radiale à partir du centre de la Terre. En notation moderne, on représente cette série comme :

V = a n = 1 N max ( a r ) n + 1 [ g n m cos ( m φ ) + h n m sin ( m φ ) ] P n m ( θ )

  • φ est la longitude
  • θ est la latitude
  • r est la distance radiale
  • n est le degré du terme
  • m est l'ordre du terme
  • V est le potentiel scalaire

Les P n m sont des polynômes de Legendre associées, lesquelles ressemblent beaucoup à des ondes sinusoïdales distordues. Les g n m et h n m sont des coefficients de Gauss, que l'on peut calculer à partir d'une analyse des moindres carrés de données magnétiques recueillies sur l'ensemble de la planète.

En théorie, la série se poursuit infiniment mais, en pratique, on limite le développement à un degré maximum, Nmax, choisi pour que la série reproduise le champ observé avec la résolution et la précision voulues. Par exemple, Nmax = 13 pour l'IGRF. Simuler le champ produit dans le noyau terrestre exige Nmax = 15. Reproduire les anomalies de la croûte terrestre mises en évidence par les données magnétiques captées par les satellites exige le prolongement de la série jusqu'à Nmax = 80.

On peut calculer les composantes du champ magnétique (X, Y et Z), en dérivant le potentiel scalaire :

X = 1 r V θ
Y = 1 r sin θ V φ
Z = V r