CANadian Magnetic Observatory System (CANMOS)

Introduction

The CANMOS (CANadian Magnetic Observatory System) is a modular PC-based data-acquisition system that serves as the automated portion of the Canadian Magnetic Observatories, operated by the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC). CANMOS uses commercially-available magnetometers that provide digital RS232 signals to the central processor PC. Output devices are also connected to the central processor by RS232 links. The concept of modularity applies not only to the hardware, but also to the design of the software running on the central processor.

The Software

The essence of the CANMOS is, in fact, the central software. This software performs the control functions to coordinate the magnetometer measurement cycles; it cleans, filters and formats the data into several data streams to be written onto hard disk, onto removable disk, and to be sent to the satellite transmitter, or relayed via modem on standard telephone links. The software performs numerous quality checks on the data, and on the correct operation of the magnetometers. An extensive set of error messages is available to the technical staff at network headquarters, who can interrogate the CANMOS by telephone and perform a number of diagnostic tests.

The Hardware

The central processor is a 386-type PC, with several additional cards, including multi-RS232 serial ports, a bus-clock, and watchdogs. The heart of the CANMOS is a "bus-clock", a specially-designed plug-in card in the PC that carries a highly accurate temperature-compensated crystal oscillator, resettable from an external source. CANMOS operation is supervised by two "watchdog" circuits that, on failure to receive specific signals, cause the system to cycle power to the PC and all external devices. The triaxial magnetometer currently used in CANMOS is the digital-output ring-core fluxgate magnetometer produced by Narod Geophysics. For this application as an observatory variometer, the firmware in the Narod magnetometer has been modified by the GSC to permit accurate calibration of the individual bias steps used in cancelling the total vector components. A novel feature of the CANMOS design is the GSC-designed tilt-correcting suspension for the fluxgate triaxial sensors. This double bifilar suspension (Pendulously suspended magnetometer sensors, by D.F. Trigg and D.G. Olson, Reviews of Scientific Instruments, 61 (10), pp.2632-2636, October 1990) has a tilt reduction ratio of greater than 10,000:1. The proton magnetometer currently in use in the CANMOS is an Overhauser magnetometer Model 9BB, produced by GEM Systems. The CANMOS can be accessed via telephone modem at speeds up to 14400 baud. CANMOS relays the data in near real-time (data bursts every 12 minutes) to network headquarters via GOES satellite, using a Valcom transmitter and a yagi antenna. The complete system is powered from an Un-interruptible Power Supply connected to the local power utility. During power failures, the UPS can run the CANMOS for about 18 hours, using four 12 volt deep-discharge UPS batteries. Temperature control is important, and a CANMOS installation has the fluxgate magnetometer sensors in an insulated, temperature-controlled enclosure, with a non-inductive, non-magnetic heating element. The fluxgate electronics are mounted in a separate enclosure with a temperature sensor, a heating element and a thermoelectric cooling device. These arrangements are designed to maintain the sensor assembly and the electronics at constant, though different, temperatures.

The Data

The fluxgate magnetometer samples the magnetic field at 8 Hz. The three component data streams are despiked and filtered using a rectangular filter over 9 data points, and resampled at 1 Hz. These 1 Hz data streams can be made available at one of the RS232 ports on the central PC and are stored on hard disk. The 1 Hz data are further filtered using a 49 point Gaussian filter, and resampled at intervals of 5 seconds. The proton magnetometer samples the field at 5 second intervals. The four 5-second data streams can be made available at an RS232 port. These data also are stored on the hard disk, and can be downloaded to a removable medium. The four 5-second data streams are filtered using a 19 point Gaussian filter (as listed in the INTERMAGNET Technical Reference Manual) and resampled at 1 minute intervals. The 1-minute data are stored on the hard disk and can be downloaded to a removable medium. To meet INTERMAGNET recommendations, the four 1-minute data streams are passed to the transmitter to be relayed in bursts at 12 minute intervals via a GOES satellite to network headquarters in Ottawa and to other INTERMAGNET data nodes. All data streams can be accessed via modem, although this is normally reserved for diagnostic or backup purposes. Summary data, in the form of hourly means and hourly ranges, can be obtained via modem. In addition to the magnetic field data, CANMOS records temperature data: the fluxgate sensor temperature, the fluxgate electronics temperature, the ambient enclosure temperature, and the outside temperature. These data are recorded on the hard disk, and downloaded with the magnetic data.

Future Enhancements

The 1 Hz data will be stored on hard disk for periodic downloading to a large capacity removable medium. Access to the CANMOS using higher speed modems will be incorporated.

CANadian Magnetic Observatory System (CANMOS)

Introduction

Le CANMOS (CANadian Magnetic Observatory System) est un système de collecte de données modulaire sur ordinateur qui constitue la composante automatisée des observatoires magnétiques canadiens, gérés par la Commission géologique du Canada (CGC). CANMOS utilise des magnétomètres commerciaux qui transmettent des signaux numériques RS232 à l'ordinateur. Les modules de sortie sont également raccordés à l'unité centrale de traitement par des liens RS232. Le concept de modularité s'applique non seulement au matériel, mais également à la conception des logiciels utilisés dans l'unité centrale de traitement.

Le logiciel

La composante essentielle du CANMOS est son logiciel central. Ce logiciel exécute les fonctions de contrôle qui coordonnent les cycles de mesures magnétométriques. Il nettoie, filtre et formate les données en plusieurs flux de données pouvant être inscrits sur un disque dur ou sur disquette et acheminés à l'émetteur d'une station satellite ou relayés par modem sur des lignes téléphoniques standards. Ce logiciel exécute plusieurs vérifications de la qualité des données et le bon fonctionnement des magnétomètres. Un ensemble complet de messages d'erreur est à la disposition du personnel technique au siège du réseau qui peut interroger CANMOS par téléphone et exécuter un certain nombre de tests diagnostiques.

Le matériel

L'unité centrale de traitement est un ordinateur de type 386 additionné de nombreuses cartes supplémentaires, incluant des ports série multi-RS232, une horloge sur bus interne et des chiens de garde. Le noyau du CANMOS est une « horloge sur bus interne », carte spécialement conçue enfichable dans l'ordinateur, munie d'oscillateur à quartz très précis à correction due à la température et réglable à partir d'une source externe. Le fonctionnement du CANMOS est surveillé par deux circuits « chien de garde » qui, en cas de non-réception de signaux spécifiques, contraignent la réinitialisation du système en interrompant le courant de l'ordinateur et des dispositifs externes pour une période déterminée. Le magnétomètre triaxial utilisé actuellement par CANMOS est une sonde magnétométrique à sortie numérique et à noyau toroïdal fabriquée par Narod Geophysics. Pour son utilisation comme variomètre d'observatoire, la microprogrammation du magnétomètre Narod a été modifiée par la CGC afin de permettre un étalonnage rigoureux des corrections individuelles utilisées pour annuler les composantes vectorielles totales. Une caractéristique novatrice de la conception du CANMOS est la suspension corrigeant l'inclinaison des sondes magnétométriques triaxiales, conçue par la CGC. Cette suspension bifilaire double se caractérise par un taux de réduction de l'inclinaison supérieur à 10 000:1 (« Pendulously suspended magnetometer sensors », par D.F. Trigg et D.G. Olson, Reviews of Scientific Instruments, 61 (10), p. 2632-2636, octobre 1990). Le magnétomètre à protons présentement utilisé par CANMOS est un magnétomètre Overhauser modèle 9BB, fabriqué par la société GEM Systems. On peut accéder au système CANMOS par modem téléphonique à des vitesses atteignant 14400 baud. CANMOS relaie les données au siège du réseau en temps quasi réel (rafales de données toutes les 12 minutes) par satellite GOES, au moyen d'un transmetteur Valcom et d'une antenne Yagi. L'ensemble du système est alimenté par une source d'énergie non interruptible (UPS) raccordée au service public local d'électricité. Durant les pannes de courant, l'UPS peut alimenter CANMOS pendant environ 18 heures au moyen de quatre piles UPS de 12 volts à décharge complète. Le contrôle de la température est important. C'est pourquoi dans une installation CANMOS les sondes magnétométriques sont logées dans une enceinte isolée où la température est régulée, à l'aide d'un élément chauffant non inductif et non magnétique. Les composantes électroniques de la sonde magnétométrique sont installées dans une enceinte séparée avec une sonde thermique, un élément chauffant et un dispositif de refroidissement thermoélectrique. Ce système est conçu pour maintenir les capteurs et les appareils électroniques à des températures constantes, quoique différentes.

Les données

La sonde magnétométrique échantillonne le champ magnétique à 8 Hz. Les trois flux de données résultants sont écrêtés et filtrés au moyen d'un filtre rectangulaire sur 9 points de données et rééchantillonnés à 1 Hz. Ces flux de données à 1 Hz peuvent être rendus accessibles à un des ports RS232 de l'ordinateur central et sont emmagasinés sur disque dur. Les données à 1 Hz sont de nouveau filtrées au moyen d'un filtre gaussien à 49 points et rééchantillonnées à des intervalles de 5 secondes. Le magnétomètre à protons échantillonne le champ à des intervalles de 5 secondes. Les quatre flux de données à 5 secondes peuvent être rendus accessibles à un port RS232. Ces données sont également emmagasinées sur le disque dur; elles peuvent être téléchargées sur support amovible. Les quatre flux de données à 5 secondes sont filtrés au moyen d'un filtre gaussien à 19 points (tel que décrit dans le manuel de référence technique INTERMAGNET) et rééchantillonnés à des intervalles d'une minute. Les données à une minute sont emmagasinées sur le disque dur et peuvent être téléchargées sur un support amovible. Conformément aux recommandations d'INTERMAGNET, les quatre flux de données d'une minute sont acheminés au transmetteur pour être relayés en rafales à des intervalles de 12 minutes, par satellite GOES au siège du réseau à Ottawa et à d'autres noeuds de données INTERMAGNET. On peut accéder à tous les flux de données par modem, bien que cet usage soit généralement réservé à des fins diagnostiques ou de sauvegarde. Des données sommaires, sous forme de moyennes horaires et de plages horaires, peuvent être obtenues par modem. Outre les données sur le champ magnétique, CANMOS enregistre les données thermiques : température des sondes magnétométriques, température des composantes électroniques des vannes de flux, température ambiante dans l'enceinte et température externe. Ces données sont emmagasinées sur disque dur et téléchargées avec les données magnétiques.